# **Outstanding Award Recipients**

### **Outstanding Member in Community Service Award**

This award recognizes members of the Society who have distinguished themselves by outstanding commitment to community service activities and who have created a favorable image of the accounting profession through their individual leadership.

2018	Javier Prada	2005	Annette V. Hayden	1993	Tony Strati
2017	Francisco A. Olvera	2004	Karen R. Rodgers	1992	Irv Diamond
2015	Carl Alongi	2003	Ronald L. Miller	1991	Bruce Ritter
2014	Patrick Wilkins	2002	Carl Alongi	1990	James Francis
2013	Tamara Hurt	2001	John Z. Jerge	1989	Donald Balkcom
2012	Jason Deshayes	2000	Dr. James H. Bullock	1988	Raymond Zimmer
2011	Terri French	1999	Dennis S. Sterosky	1987	Andrew Alderete
2010	Steve Cogan	1998	Ann Murrell	1986	James Miller
2009	Carolyn Cochran	1997	Roger Nagel	1985	Gary Bender
2008	Brandon Hill Haines	1996	Barbara A. Lewis	1984	Leonard Sanchez
2007	Eric Herrera	1995	Carolyn Cochran	1983	Herbert Cox
2006	Anita Williams Kelly	1994	Donald A. Beasley		

## **Outstanding Member in Accounting Education Award**

This award provides recognition to members who are full-time college accounting educators for excellence in the classroom teaching and for active involvement in the accounting profession.

2020	Dr. Richard G. Brody	2005	Gene L. Smith	1995	Dr. Patricia Elliott
2018	Deborah Corbin	2004	Dr. Mary Jo Billiot	1994	Dr. Arley Howard
2016	Norman Colter	2003	Dawn Addington	1993	Dr. James H. Bullock
2013	Dr. Richard G. Brody	2002	Dr. Cindy Seipel	1992	Dr. Michele Blazek
2012	Joni Young	2001	Dr. Craig White	1991	Dr. Edmund Scribner
2010	Dr. Craig White	2000	Dr. Manson P. Dillaway	1990	Dr. Taylor Foster
2009	Dan Keays	1999	Dr. Sherry K. Mills	1989	Ursel Albers
2008	Dr. Joni J. Young	1998	Dr. Jim Hamill	1988	Dr. Allan Savage
2007	Dr. William L. Smith	1997	Dr. David Baron		
2006	Dr. Larry Tunnell	1996	Irene Meares		

### **Outstanding Member in Corporate Practice Award**

CPAs who practice in, or are retired from, the corporate world can be selected for this award. The award heightens awareness of the Society's membership and creates pride in the contribution made by the individuals.

2020	Joshua Edwards	2010	Russ Hiller	2001	Thomas M. Herbert
2019	Nicholas Williams	2009	Lisa Pillar	2000	Richard Rice
2018	Lacey E. McNally	2008	James L. Caughren	1999	Bruce S. Fillpot
2017	Kari Juvera	2007	Janice Moen	1998	John Chavez
2015	Kurt Shipley	2006	Peggy O. Roberts	1996	Susan M. Willis
2014	Richard Anklam	2005	J. Brad Steward	1995	Robert O. Johnson
	Michele Zulka-King	2004	A. Wayne Davenport	1992	Michele Zulka-King
2013	Heather Zundel	2003	Elaine McKinney	1991	Kelly Williams
2012	Tracey Utterback	2002	Ruth Scanlon- Christopher	1990	Ann Best Hearns

### **Outstanding Member in Government Award**

The award gives recognition to the Society member who has demonstrated outstanding service to the profession in government.

2020	Kevin Sourisseau	2007	Jan Goodwin	1998	Vickie Fisher
2019	Natalie M. Cordova	2006	Anthony I. Armijo	1996	Billy Bowers
2018	Ricky A. Bejarano	2004	Gail Reese	1995	Margaret Peterson
2017	Sanjay Bhakta	2003	Brenda Shannon	1994	Margaret Peterson
2014	Demesia Padilla	2002	Janice McCrary	1993	Cynthia Gutierrez-Sandoval
2011	Lynette Fridley	2001	JoAnn Chavez	1991	Harroll H. Adams
2010	Alvan Romero	2000	Alvan Romero		
2009	Yvonne Segovia	1999	Carl M. Baldwin		

# **Outstanding Member in Public Practice Award**

The recipient of this award is recognized for his or her service to the profession as a CPA in public practice.

2020	Stephanie Melton	2010	Ray Roberts	2000	Barbara A. Lewis
2019	Stephanie J. Catasca	2009	Georgie Ortiz	1999	Virginia M. K. Stanley
2018	Michael A. Mimovich	2008	Dean N. Willingham	1998	Stephen M. Walker
2017	Ronald E. Schranz	2007	Sandra Shell	1997	Barbara Grider
	Michael D. Chelius	2006	Jack R. Gordon, Jr.	1996	Irv Diamond

2016	Westly Wellborn	2005	Sandra K. Ricci	1995	Jack Emmons
2015	Laura Beltran-Schmitz	2004	Vivian Moore	1994	Leonard Sanchez
2013	Julia Adams	2003	Catherine Tardy	1993	Sabino Olivas, III
2012	Doug Cox	2002	Brandon Haines	1992	James Francis
2011	Katherine Rowe	2001	Samuel J. Brandt		

### **Outstanding New Member Award**

This award was established to recognize Society members who have been active in the profession for at least one year. The recipient can be a member in one of the following membership categories: affiliate, associate, or a CPA for less than three years.

2020	Yasmeen R. Abdeljalil	2010	Raquel Barnes	2002	Yvonne Deshayes
2019	Elijah Esquivel	2009	Heather Zundel	2001	Silvia Alvarez
2018	Roger Lilly	2007	Julia Chong	2000	Katrina Lucero Romero
2017	Ben Balkcom	2006	Min Xiao	1999	Stella M. Saindon
2015	Christopher Simons	2005	Thomas C. Broderick	1996	Robert Tesch
2014	Andrea Brewer	2004	Jason M. Deshayes		
2013	Francisco Moran	2003	Ivona Winters		

### **Lifetime Achievement Award**

Awarded to an individual in area of practice who has been an NMSCPA member for a substantial period and who is considered to be at a culminating point in his/her career.

2020	Katherine M. Rowe	2010	Alvan Romero	2002	Dr. James H. Bullock
	Ron J. Rivera	2009	Herman C. Rauch, Jr.		Robert E. Kirkpatrick
2019	Vincent A. Oliver	2008	Billie Jean Thompson	2001	Raymond E. Zimmer
	David R. Gannaway		Harold E. Reynolds		John D. Laflin
	Darla G. Dollahon	2007	Leonard Sanchez	2000	Stephen M. Walker
2018	Steven Keene	2006	Carl M. Baldwin	1999	Irv Diamond
2016	Doug Cox	2005	Carl M. Alongi	1998	Sabino Olivas, III
2015	Don Beasley		James W. Francis		George Pulakos
	C. Jack Emmons	2004	Anthony Strati	1997	Arlyn Kriegel
2014	Charles W. "Skip" Phillippi	2003	William Golden		Sanford Rogoff
2013	Wayne Brown		Barbara Grider	1996	Jerrell Atkinson
2012	Ray Ziller		Charles Seward	1994	Web Smartnick
2011	Samuel Baca		Dennis Sterosky	1991	John Yeakel

### **Special Recognition for Special Contributions to the Society**

The award for Special Contribution to the Society is presented at the discretion of the Awards Committee. It is recognition for a member's significant body of service to the Society that, by its variety or nature, may not be considered or honored by other awards.

2007 Larry Hess 1995 John Laflin

2002 Dr. James Hamill

#### Friend of the Profession

The award for Friend of the Profession to the Society is presented at the discretion of the Chair. It is presented to a member of the community at large in recognition for significant service to the Society and the CPA profession.

2006 Jerry Montoya 2003 Patricia Christman

2005 Ray Hammond Jeff Gakstatter

2004 Domingo P. Martinez 2002 Senator Tim Jennings