November 7, 2016
New Mexico Society of Certified Public Accountants Annual
Pride in the Profession Awards Luncheon held Nov. 4

November 7, 2016
Contact: Kelcy Flanagan, 505-249-1699 or kelcy@nmscpa.org

ALBUQUERQUE – The NMSCPA (“the Society”) is pleased to announce that the 22nd Annual Pride in the Profession awards luncheon took place on Friday, Nov. 4, 2016 at Sandia Resort & Casino.

Steve Maestas, CEO, Maestas Development Group; Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City; and past Chair of Albuquerque Economic Development was the keynote speaker. Mr. Maestas’ keynote address, titled “A New Mexico Mindset,” focused on how the way we think about our community and economy influences our future.

During the program the Society recognized and honored the Outstanding Members Award Winners, Women to Watch Award Winners (listed below) as well as 25-year members and scholarship recipients.

Lifetime Achievement
Doug Cox, CPA - Atkinson & Co.

Outstanding Accounting Educator
Norman Colter, CPA - Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico

Outstanding Member in Public Practice
Westly Wellborn, CPA, ABV, CGMA - Wellborn & Company LLC

Woman to Watch, Experienced Leader
Janet McHard, MBA, CPA, CFE, MAFF, CFF, CGMA - McHard Accounting Consulting LLC

Woman to Watch, Emerging Leader
Anne Layne, CPA/CFF, CFE, CAMS, MBA - McHard Accounting Consulting LLC

Over the years, Pride in the Profession has become the highlight of the Society’s yearly activities and brings in more than 300 attendees from all over the state. This year’s event would not have been possible without the support of two generous sponsors, LightHouse Business Information Solutions and First National Rio Grande Bank.

Established in 1930, the New Mexico Society of Certified Public Accountants is an association uniting professionals who provide their time, talents and resources toward strengthening and enhancing the CPA profession in New Mexico.

# # #